The Winners of the 2015 "Don Smith" Commercial Building Awards

The winners of the "Don Smith" Commercial Building Awards, established by the Regional Commercial Council (RCC) of the London and St. Thomas Association of REALTORS® (LSTAR) and sponsored by CBRE, Colliers International, Dancor Construction, EllisDon Corporation, ListCentral and National Bank, were announced on February 3rd, 2016 to a capacity crowd at the London Club. According to Joe Pereira, RCC Chair, the awards program was established, "to recognize, reward and celebrate excellence and innovation in commercial building right here at home." The program was named after the late Don Smith, legendary co-founder of EllisDon, a world-renowned construction company with London roots.

The 19 entrants to the competition were judged on how environmentally sensitive the individual buildings were; on design and innovation; and on the extent to which they met a specific developmental need within the broader community. A total of 9 awards were presented. The panel of distinguished judges included:

  • Sean Dyke, Manager of the St. Thomas Economic Development Corporation
  • David Murphy, President, Murphy and Murphy Architects Inc.
  • Joe Ruscitti, Editor in Chief of the London Free Press;
  • Jim Yanchula, Manager, Urban Regeneration, City of London - Planning Services;
  • Peter White, Executive Director of Government Relations and Strategic Partnerships, Western University; who was the chair of our Judges Panel.

Awards were presented for:

Commercial Building Achievement Category (three categories)

  • Commercial Renovation Winner
    • a-LiNK Architecture Inc. Office (136 Wellington Road, London).
      a-Link Building
  • Commercial Office Retail Winner
    • Nixon Medical Centre (510 Southdale Road West, London).
      Nixon Medical Centre
  • Commercial Repurpose Winner
    • The London Roundhouse (240 Waterloo Street, London).
      London Roundhouse 

Industrial Building Achievement Category

  • Kaiser Aluminum Manufacturing Plant Expansion (3021 Gore Rd., London).
    Kaiser Aluminum 

Institutional Building Achievement Category (three categories)

  • Institutional New Winner (tie)
    • Elgin St. Thomas Public Health Unit (1230 Talbot St., St. Thomas); and
      Elgin - St. Thomas Public Health Unit 
    • No.7 Fire Station (1295 Webster St., London).
      No. 7 Fire Station London 
  • Institutional Healthcare Winner
    • St. Joseph's Health Care London - Milestone 2 Phase 3 (268 Grosvenor St., London).
      St. Joseph's Health Care
  • Institutional Heritage Winner
    • The Elgin County Courthouse (4 Wellington St., ST. Thomas).
      The Elgin Courthouse
  • Institutional Education Winner (tie)
    • Clare Hall and Mercato at Brescia University College (271 Ramsey Rd., London); and
      Clare Hall and Mercato at Brescia University
    • Ontario Hall Student Residence - Western University (230 Sarnia Rd., London)
      Ontario Hall Student Residence - Western University
  • Institutional Repurpose Winner
    • Howard W. Rundle Centre for Digital & Performance Arts Fanshawe College (137 Dundas St., London)
      Howard W. Rundle Centre for Digital & Performance Arts - Fanshawe College 

Multi-Family Building Achievement Category

  • Multi-Family Building Achievement Winner
    • 77 Tecumseh Ave., London
      77 Tecumseh Building Complex

Also present at the event were Stacey Evoy, 2016 LSTAR President, Members of the RCC Executive, Joe Pereira, the RCC Chair, Jack Lane, the RCC Past Chair as well as Eavan Travers, Ontario Director of the Canadian Commercial Council.

Click here to see the original News Release of LSTAR.

About LSTAR's "Don Smith" Commercial Building Awards

Launched in 2009, the "Don Smith" Commercial Building Awards recognize and celebrate commercial building excellence. The awards were established by the Regional Commercial Council (RCC) of the London and St. Thomas Association of REALTORS® to inspire the architectural and construction community to include and embrace innovation within their design criteria, so that our built heritage might better serve and better reflect our community. Watch the video below to see what kind of media coverage our event has earned in the past.

A-Channel Video

About LSTAR Regional Commercial Council

The Regional Commercial Council (RCC) of the London and St. Thomas Association of REALTORS® is committed to assisting its Members to succeed in commercial real estate. The Council came into effect on March 24, 2004.

The Council’s mandate is to:

  • Represent the interests of its membership;
  • Contribute to the Council Members’ professional development and expertise;
  • Develop recommendations on matters of public policy of a commercial nature and forward to appropriate authorities; and
  • Foster co-operation in the exchange of information among Council Members.

In pursuing its mandate, the Council recognizes that the Board of Directors has the primary responsibility and authority to manage LSTAR’s affairs and agrees to conduct its activities in such a way as to avoid conflict or duplication.

The Chair of the 2016 RCC Executive is Joe Pereira. Also, on the 2016 Executive are: Jack Lane (Past Chair), Knute Dohnberg, Bryan VanAcker, Roger Guindon, Young Min Kim and Rick Spencer.